Logistics legacy continues with annual recognition

Iannone, Cox honored for 2013 achievements

Ed Iannone and Patricia Cox had a similar reaction when their names were called during Thursday’s 23rd annual Ernest A. Young Logistics Achievement Award luncheon at The Summit.

Both were surprised and humbled.

Iannone won the Professional/Technical Award while Cox won the Management/Executive Award.

“It’s about teamwork,” said Iannone, a logistics management specialist in sustainment optimization and analysis for the AMCOM Logistics Center. “Taking care of Soldiers, the war fighters, is what we’re really all about. It’s making sure people get what they want on time and in good condition so they can use it. Logistics is all about that. And it’s about teamwork.”

Cox is chief of the supply support division in the logistics directorate at Lower Tier Project Office on matrix from the Aviation and Missile Command’s Logistics Center.

She credited her team, “the people who I see work so hard every day for the war fighter and who are really responsible for any achievement that I’m recognized for.”

“Their dedication to the Soldier, their technical competence, it humbles me to work alongside them,” Cox said. “They give 110 percent every day they come to work. And I’m so grateful for how hard they work and they just make my job so easy.”

Nominations for the awards were solicited from Team Redstone organizations at the beginning of August. There were nine nominees for the Professional/Technical Award and seven nominees for the Management/Executive Award. The winners were selected by eight people from various Team Redstone organizations who evaluated the submission packets separately.

“Each of you can be very proud of your accomplishments,” Keith Roberson, executive director of the AMCOM Logistics Center, said.

He praised the legacy of the award’s namesake, Ernie Young, who helped present the awards. Young, who retired as AMCOM deputy commander, was the first recipient in 1991.

The guest speaker was John B. Smith, last year’s recipient of the Management/Executive Award. “Logistics is the heart of what we do,” Smith said.

About 150 people attended the luncheon. The professional/technical nominees included Iannone, Gary W. Brown, Rodrick Cooper, Todd Fancher, Arturo Gamboa, Shane Lege, Monna Mosser, Lisa Roberts and Terrance Wingo. The management/executive nominees included Cox, Jody Brenner, Percy Burnett, Donald Flick, Teresa Harrison, Cynthia Johnson and Robert Simpson.